the wrong song

by imnotyourfavoritepossession

She yelled at me for my song choice tonight. We weren’t really in the same room, but were each walking from different parts of the house when we passed each other. She went to the kitchen while I went to the family room, still within ear shot. I started a song and she said, “As if I’m not in enough pain already and you have to play that!” She didn’t offer an explanation other than to say it was ‘too peppy.’ I let it go.

I don’t ever plan to alter the songs I’ve written. It doesn’t really seem to matter, as even generic lyrics can make her insanely jealous. How can I reach for my dreams when she is like this? I have enough anxiety about performing already. I don’t need all of this other shit. Worrying about her reaction leaves me feeling anxious and timid.

